Gawler High School

Year 12 Graduation 2008

News & Events
Useful Links


Up ] Year 12 Graduation 2006 ] Year 12 Graduation 2007 ] [ Year 12 Graduation 2008 ] Year12 Graduation 2009 ] Year 12 Graduation 2010 ] Year 12 Graduation 2011 ]

Graduation Day 2008

                           November 21st 2008

FAREWELL YEAR 12 2008......... Click here to see a page and movie designed by Year 12s, for Year 12s

The culmination of the Year 12's school life is the Graduation Ceremony. This grand event was held at the Starplex on Friday 21st November. Our guest speaker was the Hon Greg Crafter, who spoke about his journey in life, of the importance of planning and perseverance. Greg Crafter attended Gawler High in the late 1950ís and became a long serving politician in the seat of Norwood and also served as the Education Minister of South Australia.

This yearís Valedictory Speakers and Medal recipients were Naomi Turus and Daniel Roe.

The ceremony was followed in the evening by an enjoyable formal dinner at Ayers House, North Adelaide. We wish our Graduates every success in their future and hope they have fond memories of Gawler High.

We congratulate all our award winners:


Order of Ceremony




Ms Penny Spencer


Guest Speaker


The Hon. Mr Greg Crafter


Presentation of Graduation Certificates





Mr Greg Harvey

Mr Scott Merriman


Musical Item

Senior Band


Presentation of Graduation Certificates





Mr Greg Harvey

Mr Scott Merriman


Principal's Address


Mr Greg Harvey


Presentation of  Academic Awards



Mr Jeff Forrester

The Hon. Mr Greg Crafter

Mr Scott Merriman


Musical Item


Chris Bell (Year 12 Student)




Presentation of Special Awards


Ms Di Richardson


GHS Foundation Award - 2007 Dux



Ms Sandra Lowery

Mr. Robert Congdon


Jill Brindley Award 


Ms Jill Brindley


McDougall English Prize

Dr Jenny Rocca


John Chambers Memorial Award for Humanities


Ms Carmel Rosier
Mrs Michelle Chambers

Governing Council Citizenship & Leadership Award


Mrs Jenice Zerna


ADF Long Tan Award


Flight Lieutenant Shane Carter


Caltex All Rounder


Mayor Brian Sambell


Valedictorian Speeches



Naomi Taurus

Daniel Roe


Valedictory Medal Presentation


Mr Greg Harvey


Closing Remarks 


Ms Penny Spencer



Special Awards


Caltex All Rounder Medal Jessica Vella
Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award Daniel Roe
Governing Council Leadership Award Michelle Taylor
John Chambers Memorial Award for Humanities

Rebekah Wright

McDougall English Prize Samantha Noakes
Jill Brindley Award Noami Turus
GHS Foundation Dux of 2007 David Price


Academic Award Winners:


Early Childhood Studies Melissa Bird
Furniture Construction Michael Lewis
Information Publishing & Processing Helen Hollow
Information Technology Wayne Cotton
Integrated Learning-Psychology April Chenoweth
Music Chris Bell
Psychology Jessica Vella
Small Business Enterprise Jessica Ballantyne
Technical Graphics Roxanne Stocker
Mathematical Studies, Physics Leighton Earl
Mathematical Applications, Modern History, Philosophy,
Studies of Societies
Rebekah Wright


Vocational Education & Training Awards Certificate II


Retail Operations Melissa Bird
Broadcasting & Multimedia Crystal Tull
Community Services (Child Care) Melissa Northcott, Megan Savill
Printing & Graphics Nikki McDonald
Hairdressing Jessica Ballantyne


Merit Certificates:


Building Construction Michael Lewis
Chemistry Ben Thomas
Drama Emma Noakes
Physical Education Daniel Roe
Visual Arts Jessica Vella

Go to the Department of Education and Children's Services Home page

 National Education Access Licence for Schools (NEALS)

Department of Education and Children's Services
 trading as South Australian Government Schools

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Attribution


SACSA | SACE Board | My School


Web site Last Updated: 12/01/2012

Barnet Road


SA  5116 

Tel 08 8521 2400

Fax 08 8523 0439


General enquires - email

International Students' Information:

CRICOS Provider No: 00018A


Please also see


Government of South Australia Home Page